Federal UAE Governments & Its 7 Emirates

April 9, 2022

UAE is a country where is a federation of 7 Emirates. These Emirates are Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, RAK, Umm Al Quwain, and Fujairah. Every Emirate has its own Ruler and its rule but it is under a Federal Rule too, which is called UAE Federal Law. Every Emirate has its own Executive Council. This federation came into being in 1971. As per UAE Constitution, all Emirates might give up their certain Emirate Rules to give authority to Federal Rules. It means Federal Rules might supersede certain Emirate Rules. We will like to mention a few articles here e.g. Articles 120, 121 and 122. It shows that

“Article 122 of the Constitution states that the emirates shall have jurisdiction in all matters not assigned to the exclusive jurisdiction of the Federation in accordance with the provisions of Articles 120 and 121”

Different Emirate Government:

All the governments are different in size and structures. There are various parameters of this. These parameters or key factors are based on

·      Area

·      Location

·      Opportunity Available

·      Living Cost

·      Earning Level

·      Total number of populations

Abu Dhabi:

Abu Dhabi is the capital of the United Arab Emirates. One of the biggest, most popular and most developed cities in UAE. The Emirate is ruled by His Highness Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan. There is a Council here, that has to assist and support the Abu Dhabi Rulers to perform their duties to the people of Abu Dhabi. This Council is comprised of a number of departments, and sub-departments and they all have one objective altogether to assist HH Sheikh Khalifa Bin Zayed Al Nahyan, to perform well, and implement the plans effectively. There are three main regions of Abu Dhabi.

·      Capital City and its surroundings

·      Al Ain (Eastern Region)

·      Al Dhafra (Western Region)


Dubai, is one of the biggest and most developed Emirates in UAE. Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum is the Ruler of the Emirate of Dubai. Emirate of Dubai and its ruler HH Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum is also assisted by an Executive Council. The Dubai Executive Council is headed by Crown Prince HH Sh Hamdan Bin Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum. Emirate of Dubai is popular for having its 8 golden principles. These 8 principles are:  

  1. The Union is the Foundation
  2. We are a Business Capital
  3. No One is Above the Law
  4. Three Factors Drive Growth
  5. Our Society has a Unique Personality
  6. We Believe in Economic Diversification
  7. A Land for Talent
  8. We Care about Future Generations.

Grab the Details Here: Dubai 8 Principles


Sharjah is also one of the 7 Emirates in UAE. It also has a Sharjah Executive Council. Emirate of Sharjah is ruled by His Highness Sheikh Dr Sultan Bin Muhammad Al Qasimi.

List of Other Emirates are:

·       Ajman

Ruler: His Highness Sheikh Humaid bin Rashid Al Nuaimi III

·       Umm Al Quwain

Ruler: His Highness Sheikh Saud bin Rashid Al Mualla

·       Ras Al Khaimah

Ruler: His Highness Sheikh Saud bin Saqr al Qasimi

·       Fujairah

Ruler: Highness Sheikh Hamad bin Mohammed Al Sharqi

Federal Supreme Council:

Federal Supreme Council is the top constitutional authority in UAE in the constitutional hierarchy. UAE Constitution 45, states that Federal Supreme Council is among 5 Bodies that have federal authorities of the UAE government.


Diwan is the Ruler Court where petitions/cases are filled for getting justice. It is an interaction between the Ruler and Citizen. Every emirate has its own DIWAN Court. Abu Dhabi has two DIWAN. One as President DIWAN which is for the entire UAE Country, and the second is CPC or Crown Prince Court for Abu Dhabi City.

Grab The Details: Check with our UAE National Lawyers